Gutter 18 and The Freedom Papers Announced

Gutter 18 will be landing on doorsteps and bookshelves from the start of August.  It’s been a real pleasure to put this issue together and we are delighted to be featuring work from Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o, Vahni Capildeo, Billy Letford, Penny Boxall, and many more of the most exciting writers Scotland the wider literary world have to offer.

We are also thrilled that this issue of Gutter Magazine comes with The Freedom Papers, a 164 page supplement, presented in association with the Edinburgh International Book Festival. The Freedom Papers features 52 short essays on freedom from writers around the world including Carmen Maria Machado, Afua Hirsch, Olga Tokarczuk, Kathleen Jamie and many more.

Subscribe to Gutter now and receive Issue 18 plus the The Freedom Papers. And help support the Magazine!


The calibre of submissions was, as always, extremely high, and we know what a privilege it is to have you send in your work for us to read. Thank you to everyone that sent us poetry, prose, essays and illustrations, and thank you for our team of reviewers. We’re delighted to announce the line up for Gutter 18 as being:


Felicity Anderson-Nathan


Nick Athansiou


Penny Boxall


Sheri Benning


Simon K Brown


Larry Butler


Rosa Campbell


Eleanor Capaldi


Vahni Capildeo


Lucy Cathcart Froden


AC Clarke


Sara Clark


Colette O’Connor


Emma Gibb


David Hale


Melanie Henderson


Bridget Khursheed


Charles Lang


Hannah Lavery


Iona Lee


William Letford


David Linklater


Marcas Mac an Tuairneir


Agata Maslowska


Peter McCune


Stephen McEwan


Heather Parry


Alycia Pirmohamed


Megan Primrose


Olive M Ritch


Mark Russell


Hamish Scott


Catherine Simpson


Lindsey Shields Waters .


Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o


Maria Sledmere


Swara Shukla


Dan Spencer


Nicholas Stewart


Jacques Tsianter


Sarah Whiteside.


Jay Whittaker


Kevin Williamson


Ross Wilson


Hannah Van Hove



The Authors and Artists in The Freedom Papers are


Carmen Maria Machado

Michel Faber

Afua Hirsch

Leila Aboulela

Kathleen Jamie

Chitra Ramaswamy

Eloise Greenfield

Ever Dundas


Sandip Roy


Haydeh Ravesh


Esa Aldegheri & Gavin Francis


Juan Tomás Ávila Laurel


Yaba Badoe


Olumide Popoola


Cat Clarke


Loujain Alhathloul


Nicola Davies


Joud Al-Mabaydin


Ade Adepitan


Hsiao-Hung Pai


Lee Craigie


Shahad Al Rawi


Angela Woods


Inara Verzemnieks


Brian Conaghan


Tania Kovats


Vivian French


Bruce Pascoe


Tania Skarynkina


Graeme Macrae Burnet


Hasani Hasani


Cory Doctorow


Paul Magrs


Rory MacLean


Kapka Kassabova


SJ Naudé


Yan Lianke


Yvonne Owuor


James Thornton


Peter Mackay


Gabriela Ybarra


Alberto Manguel


Hawa J Golakai


David Leddy


Olga Tokarczuk


Juno Dawson


Karen Lord


Djamila Ribeiro


Ehsan Abdollahi


Aminatta Forna