Gutter 15 Writers Announced

The print button has now been pressed on Gutter issue 15 and we’re pleased to reveal the full contributor list. As always, it wasn’t an easy process to narrow down the final batch from an ever-increasing number of excellent quality submissions (the editorial process revealed in grittier detail here), and we appreciate your patience extended so generously whilst we’ve been finalising production. We’re excited to launch another sparkling issue of Gutter with a couple of events, one in Glasgow and one in Edinburgh, and shall reveal more details soon – keep an eye on our Facebook and Twitter pages for news. When we started work on this issue many months ago, we had no idea of the political changes that were to unfold before launch. As Colin Begg’s issue 15 editorial details, Gutter is a Scottish magazine which has always had a commitment to internationalism at its core, “of a firm belief in the ability of words and ideas to join people in conversation and collaboration much more than they can foster difference and division.” For this reason, issue 15 has a trans-Atlantic theme, and we’ve reached out across the ocean to commission a number of writers from Canada and Iceland. Closer to home, issue 15 also features award-winning writers and poets including Mallachy Tallack, Alec Findlay, Helen McClory, and Booker winner James Kelman, who are are chuffed to see make his first appearance in Gutter.

Here is the full list of those included in Gutter 15:


Laura A Becherer

Tessa Berring

Andrew Blair

William Bonar

Mark Buckland

Ian Burgham


Angela Catlin


RA Davis

Brian Docherty

Leonie M Dunlop


Jim Ferguson

Alec Finlay

Paul Foy


Jane Goldman

Catherine Graham

Steven Heighton


Andy Jackson

Russell Jones

        Auður Jónsdóttir


James Kelman

Catriona Knapman


Gerry Loose

Jeanette Lynes


Rob A Mackenzie

SR Mackison

Marianne Macrae

Mikhail Mavrotheris

Ellen McAteer

Andrew McCallum

Helen McClory

James McGonigal

Carol McKay

Kerrie McKinnel

Rhona Miller

Philip Miller

Iain Morrison


Christina Neuwirth


Ignacio B Peña

Lauren Pope

AP Pullan


Claire Quigley


Angela Rawlings

Cynthia Rogerson


Stewart Sanderson

Hamish Scott

Arun Stood



Malachy Tallack


Ryan Vance


Paul Walton

Roseanne Watt

George T Watt

Stephen Watt

Christine Williamson

Ross Wilson

Olga Wojtas


Valgerður Þóroddsdóttir

Gutter 15 can be purchased at all good bookshops or online here.
Support new Scottish writing and subscribe to Gutter from just £12.00 here.
Submit to issue 16 here.